{Tokyo Disney Resort} Queen of Hearts Banquet Hall

queen of hearts banquet hall

In a Nutshell:

  • Where: Queen of Hearts Banquet Hall @ Tokyo Disneyland
  • When: June 5, 2012
  • *Notes: Alice in Wonderland themed restaurant, located in Fantasyland

Full Report:

While Tokyo Disneyland may lack an Alice in Wonderland dark ride (like the one Anaheim Disneyland has), it more than makes up for it with a wonderful Alice themed restaurant.  Located in Fantasyland, right next to It’s A Small World, this cafeteria style restaurant is themed to the hilt.

queen of hearts banquet hall

Seriously, if someone gave me a dollar for every time I oohed and aahed I would have enough money to pay for another trip to Tokyo Disneyland.

queen of hearts banquet hall

queen of hearts banquet hall

queen of hearts banquet hall

tokyo disneyland queen of hearts

tokyo disneyland queen of hearts

And now, on to the food.  Since we had already taken a look at the menu outside the restaurant, we both knew what we were going to order.  Or at least M did.  After days of eating lots of noodles, rice, and fish, he wanted RED MEAT!  I, on the other hand, was wavering between the Heart-shaped Meat Patty and Rotisserie Chicken entrees.  I took another look at the menu but I still wasn’t sure…..

queen of hearts banquet hall

Upon checking out the plastic versions of the entrees, I started leaning towards the Heart-Shaped Meat Patty.  I’m really not a ground meat person but the plastic version looked so kawaii……

plastic food display

Then I came up to the counter and saw the Heart-Shaped Meat Patties in the flesh….

heart shaped meat patties

….and that’s when I decided to go with the chicken instead.  Somehow, the meat patties just didn’t look very good.  In addition to our entrees we each got a cream of corn soup and M added on a plate of rice.

We weren’t hungry enough to get a dessert, but here’s the plastic versions of them:

desserts at queen of hearts banquet hall

Dinner was very reasonably priced.  I’m not sure how well you could see the prices in the plastic entrees picture, but M’s Flank Steak with Gravy was 1410 JPY and my Rotisserie Chicken with Garlic Seasoning was 1340 JPY.  With today’s Yen-to-U.S. Dollar conversion rates, those plates would cost roughly $14.10 and $13.40, respectively.  Oh, yes, and each of the cream of corn soups was 380 JPY.  Sorry, I can’t remember what the rice cost but as we were in the Land of Gohan, I doubt it was very much.

We sat down to eat, but of course, I had M take pictures of our dishes first:

flank steak

rotisserie chicken

The food was surprisingly really good!  I say surprisingly because….well, it is theme park food, after all.  And while I love, love, love Japanese food it was so good to be eating more Westernized food after 3 weeks without it.  M’s flank steak was cooked really well, nice and juicy with lots of flavor from the gravy.  My rotisserie chicken was very tasty too, seasoned quite well and not the least bit dry.  The corn soup was decently good, nothing special.  If you’ve ever been to Japan you might have noticed that corn soup is served in a lot of restaurants.  Since it’s M’s favorite soup after French Onion, we’d already indulged in a lot of it by this point in the trip.

We pretty much scraped our plates clean, that’s how much we enjoyed our food.  I had M take one last picture of the cafeteria area:

queen of hearts buffet

Then with one last ooh and aah, we were off to explore the rest of the park.