{Japan: Eat} Berry Cafe, Kyoto Station

Berry Cafe, Kyoto

Berry Cafe, JR Kyoto Station

If you’ve been to Kyoto, then chances are, you’ve been to JR Kyoto Station.  If you’ve been to JR Kyoto Station then you couldn’t have missed the Berry Cafe’s cake display near the Hachijo exit.  These scrumptious tarts feature every kind of fruit you can think of.  There’s no point in trying to describe them, pictures speak louder than words:

Berry Cafe, Kyoto

Berry Cafe, Kyoto

I first came upon this cafe way back on our 2007 Japan trip.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to try it at that time.  In 2012, I got another chance when we were in Nagoya for the night.  Kyoto is only half an hour away so we decided to go there for dinner and dessert.  I got a slice of tart topped with strawberries and grapes.  It cost 850 JPY!  And, at that time, the US dollar was in the toilet and we were only getting 70 JPY to the dollar.  So, a whopping $12 US for a very small piece of cake.  We took it back to the hotel (Nagoya Marriott) and I ate it while watching Japanese television.  I’ll be honest, it was one of the BEST cakes I ever ate in my life.  The fruits were sweet and the cheesecake like filling was delicious.  Furthermore, for how small it was, it managed to satisfy.  Still, there’s a lot of other things I could have gotten for 850 JPY.  If I ever go to Kyoto again will you catch me spending money at Berry Cafe?  Maybe if I’m getting 120 Yen to the dollar…..

Berry Cafe, Kyoto

I like how they put the cardboard partitioning around it so it wouldn't move around during transport.

I like how they put the cardboard partitioning around it so it wouldn’t move around during transport.

berry cafe, kyoto

Object is much smaller than appears in picture.