{Japan: Plan} My Travel Day Essentials

travel day essential

Here’s what I need with me whenever I travel to and from Japan:

1. Kindle

I absolutely need my Kindle for airport layovers and long airplane rides.  I also read right before going to bed, it helps put me to sleep.  I’ve downloaded a few books for this upcoming Hong Kong/Japan trip: 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami,  The Good Earth by Pearl Buck, and the entire Wizard of Oz collection.

2. Bose Headphones

Before I got these, I always thought everyone wearing them looked so pretentious.  “Look at me, look at me, I can afford $300 headphones!”  And then I was gifted with a pair before my last Japan trip, and now I can’t travel without them!  It’s incredible how much they block out the roar of the airplane.  It almost makes you forget that you’ll be crammed into a tin can for the next 11 hours.

3. UCLA sweatshirt

Since M is a USC fan he always threatens to donate this sweatshirt when I’m not looking.  I still wish I had some of my original sweatshirts back when I was a student, but I wore them so much they all fell apart.  I bought this one a couple of years ago and I always wear it when I travel.  It’s roomy and soft and keeps me warm when the airplane gets too cold.

4. Gum/Candy

The air pressure in the airplane always bothers me so chewing gum or eating candy (especially, the gummy type) really helps.

5. Contact lens case filled with fluid and glasses

I normally wear contacts from the minute I wake up to the second I get into bed at night.  But when I fly, I always take them out as soon as I get settled in my seat.  This way I don’t have to worry if I unexpectedly doze off (I never sleep with my contacts in, they make my eyes so dry).   If you’re wondering why I don’t just wear my glasses before I get to the airport, it’s strictly a vanity thing.  I hate wearing them, they make my face look as round as a pumpkin!

6. Nintendo 3DS

This is my backup for when I get bored of reading my Kindle.  Somehow Nintendo has tricked me into buying a 3DS even though I already had the regular kind.  The newest Professor Layton and Super Mario were only in 3D format!

7. Trashy magazines

Eh, you know the type: US, People, Life & Style……but never Star Magazine, I draw the line at Star.

8. My laptop so I can blog of course!

Since I started the blog I’m so addicted, it’s my thing now!  I can’t wait to blog on the road, it’ll be a whole new experience for sure!

Photo credit: …-Wink-… / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA, Photo credit: LoKan Sardari / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA, Photo credit: Frank Gruber / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA, Photo credit: wishymom (Stephanie Wallace Photography) / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND, bochalla / Foter / CC BY-SA, Photo credit: bochalla / Foter / CC BY-SA, Photo credit: Travis Isaacs / Foter / CC BY