{Hong Kong} An Early Morning Walk Along the Avenue of Stars

bruce lee 1

In a Nutshell:

  • Where: Avenue of Stars, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong
  • When: September 24, 2013
  • *Notes: Notable Hong Kong stars honored include Jet Li, Maggie Cheung, John Woo, Michelle Yeoh, Chow Yun Fat, Jackie Chan, and Bruce Lee, Gorgeous views of Victoria Harbour!

Full Report:

On our first morning in Hong Kong, M and I set out from our hotel (Hyatt Regency, Tsim Sha Tsui) to walk along the Avenue of Stars.  Modeled on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Avenue of Stars features the hand prints and signatures of Hong Kong’s cinematic celebrities.  Once there, we were immediately blown away by the beautiful views of Victoria Harbour.

avenue of stars 1

avenue of stars 2

avenue of stars 3

Initially,  I didn’t recognize any of the names on the Avenue of Stars.  But as we walked further along the pathway, I started to see some familiar names: Chow Yun Fat, Jet Li, Maggie Cheung, John Woo……and then Bruce Lee!!!  I have been a huge Bruce Lee fan since I saw “Way of the Dragon”.

Because Bruce Lee died before the Avenue of Stars was created, his star doesn’t include his hand prints or signature.  But, there is a statue in his honor and all the tourists were milling around it and mugging for pictures.  It was really fun to watch all the kung fu poses most of the men would strike as they posed with Bruce Lee.  I told M I would take a picture of him with Bruce but he refused, he absolutely hates having his picture taken.

As we passed by Jet Li’s star, I heard a tour guide tell his group that the actor has notoriously tiny hands.  Of course, I was curious to compare my own hands with Jet’s to see whether mine might possibly be larger.  After waiting for my turn, I placed my hand into Jet Li’s mold…….darn, my hand was still smaller!  Or maybe that’s a good thing, I don’t think I want my hands to be larger than any man’s.  Then M compared his hands to Jet’s and while his fingers were longer, Jet’s thumb was quite bigger.  That Jet must have relatively huge thumbs, I’m going to have to re-watch some of his movies and check them out!

chow yun fat's star

Don’t tell M but I think Chow Yun Fat is VERY sexy!

maggie cheung's star

She’s so beautiful! I just loved her in “In the Mood For Love”.

IMG_2961

IMG_2962

He’s such a great director, Hard Boiled is one of my favorite action movies of all time.

bruce lee 4

bruce lee 2

bruce lee 3

jet li star

jet li 2

jet li 3

My hand’s just a smidge smaller than Jet’s lol!

Photo credit: maya-chow / Foter / CC BY, Photo credit: cwangdom / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND,