{Japan: Explore} What’s Inside the Great Buddha of Kamakura?

great-buddha-of-kamakura-daibutsu

Visiting Kamakura is one of the most popular day trips to take from Tokyo.  Once there, many people make a beeline to see the Great Buddha (Daibutsu) at Kotokuin Temple.    I, along with my brother and M, was one of those lucky people on our 2008 trip to Japan.  Except, I wasn’t so much interested in the outside of the Buddha (there are a gazillion pictures of him on the Internet, after all).  I wanted to see the inside!  Yes, for only 20 Yen (20 cents US), you can enter the belly of the Buddha!  There really wasn’t anything to do in there other than read how he was constructed.  But being inside of him gave the visit a different perspective and I appreciated that.  Now, if there was a huge chocolate bunny I could go inside of…..

Great Buddha, Kamakura

entering the Daibutsu

inside the belly of the Great Buddha

inside the Daibutsu

exiting the Daibutsu

Photo credit: Pasha_C / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA